Book Review – How to Survive Middle School and Monster Bots

How to Survive Middle School and Monster Bots by Ron Bates is a quick read. My 11 year old read the book and wasn’t very impressed with it. He said the main character was kind of a jerk, and seemed to be self-centered. He said he got about halfway through the book and wouldn’t finish it because he hated the main character so much.

He did enjoy the writing style, just hated the character. He did acknowledge that this was a realistic character, and said he saw many kids at school like this boy. He said he saw this character as someone who complained about being bullied while bullying others.

As a mom, I am glad my son recognized the issues with this character, but I was disappointed in this type of representation. It seems to further perpetuate the type of behavior that kids have now that I hate.

*I was given this book from booklookbloggers.com in exchange for my honest review.

Leave a Reply

