Book Review “The Dog Who was There”

I was excited to read this book and thought it would be an interesting idea. The author jumped points of view often, and that made it kind of confusing to keep up with at points. I really appreciated the look that it gave us of Jerusalem during the time of Jesus’ life – especially the more poor lifestyles. I also appreciated the look that the author took in terms of the violent disregard the Romans had for life.

I also liked the way that the author presented the crucifixion scene through the eyes of the dog… which gave Barley a more human feel, which was nice. I did struggle thinking that although a lot happened in the first half of the book, the first few chapters felt slow.

Overall, I would say this is a very good read. My 10 year old daughter loved it.

I received a complimentary advanced readers’ copy of “The Dog who was There” via Litfuse. This is an independent and honest review of the book.

Leave a Reply

